In 1396 built next to the Rhine as toll- and observation tower, four floors, the second floor has a curved staircase in the wall that leads to the third floor with large round arched Windows, the top floor is the panorama platform. In 1628-1630 and 1645-1647 used as Dungeon and torture room, the Dungeon was located in the basement and was only accessible through a hatch in the floor of the ground floor (also called the “hatch of fear”), in 1645-1646 during the witch hunt 10 alleged witches and wizards were tortured at this spot and later beheaded at the execution place near the old church. The witch hunt was thouroughly documented, in which was amongst other facts: one of the first victims was the 80-year-old Apollonia Lehmel who died of the consequences of torture. Another victim, Christine May, wanted to escape the torture and jumped out the window of the Tower, she survived the jump and mannaged to flee some hundred meters before she was caught, captivated and sentenced. In 1795 the entire City Council was imprisoned at the tower as they refused to comply with the instructions of the French occupation. During WW II it served as a hideout and was damaged by bombs. Renovation end 1980, serves today as exhibition centre.
Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved 版权所有 乐道旅途网